T.G.I.M.: NEW WEEK, NEXT HUSTLE

When I used to work a 9 to 5, I dreaded Mondays. It meant that is was a long way from Saturday. Every Monday, I looked forward to the weekend. I no longer dread Mondays. I choose how my Mondays are going to go every weekend. I decide what days to work, when to work and how many hours. There have been weeks where I only worked 2-3 days and weeks where I worked 7 days straight.

I am looking forward to this week because I physically start my business. I am not looking forward to this week because I over booked myself. However, when you work for yourself, you control for the most part how much money you want to make. I have rent coming up, I want to be as close to the due date as possible. I usually don’t mind paying the late fee, but that money can be put in better use. Whether groceries, investment or materials for my company. My goal is to start paying my rent on time every month consecutively, to avoid late charges. I’m losing money.

Getting extra income means I have to work extra hard. As much as I love the idea of a 4 hour work day, sometimes working for yourself might mean a 9-12 hour day in order to meet financial goals. I will take you through a typically week with me.

POSTMATES: Currently, I no longer have to schedule myself for a postmate job, so it’s become more a hit or miss when I work with them. Some days you make money, other days; not so much. My advice when doing these types of jobs, have backups. I always have one or two backup companies encase my main company that week is inconsistent. These jobs are very inconsistent. You have to put into factor days, locations and time to calculate if you will reap financial rewards. As a postmates ambassador, I am fortune to be given extra ways to make income. I have 1-2 possible events this week as part of the street team. 

WONOLO: Another company I am an ambassador for that function closer to the 9 to 5 model but in shorter terms. You can work an 8 hour shift, one or more days. It all depends on what you or company decide in the app selection. This one I consider more of a filler job when I need quick money, within a short time frame. I can go weeks and months without working this company, if there aren’t any jobs that I’m interested in. However, I need to be doing a type of job like Postmates or the next company I will talk about Grubhub, to pay bills.

GRUBHUB: This company is currently paying the bills, which is surprising because I thought it would be Postmates. By the end of 2016, everyone was rooting for Postmates, but I was starting to have my doubts. I added Grubhub back to my portfolio which was a gamble that paid off. Every Sunday, I make my schedule for the week. It’s subject to change. If I change my mind, someone is always willing to take the schedule. These types of jobs are unstable. You never know which one is going to pay your rent for the week, that is why you have to be a quick thinker, always on the move and ready to make changes. It’s a very fast pace schedule that not everyone can do. A few years ago, I couldn’t live this lifestyle. Now, I can’t see myself living any lifestyle that doesn’t challenge me, grow me and change me. 

HONORABLE MENTION: Still figuring how to use company to yield high financial rewards.

Once my schedule is made for the week, then I have to start plotting my next move for each day. Where do I want to work? If the location I choose is not giving me quick financial returns, I have to quickly move to new location. It can be a very mundane profession because all you have are you and your thoughts. I try to find time to hang with friends on off days, just so I can interact with other people when I’m not working. It’s a very lonely profession, but can have high rewards if you learn how to pivot and maneuver. I’m still learning because I have limitations. I don’t ride bikes or drive. That cuts my earning potential by at least half.

The biggest reward for me is deciding when to work and putting away time to create my own personal cashflow in the form of a business. I will talk more about that, this week. It’s not just about money, it’s about freedom, control and independence. If I can work in an unstable environment without losing my cool, I can create my own stable environment. If I am no longer able to make money through being an independent contractor, I need to set a system in place to still be able to support myself. That is where turning a hobby into a business comes into play. If there’s some skill that you love, find a way to make money from it. That is one way towards happiness.

THIS IS WHY MY MONDAYS ARE NO LONGER DREADED.

Leave a Reply

