BRING ON 2017!

I spent my new years a little less socially awkward than the past new years. When I was younger my new years consist of going to church and joining in new years festivities. Including starring, directing a Christmas play, performing with a choir, a group or doing a pantomime.

As years went on, and I no longer had a religious clutch to lean on, I found it harder to celebrate holidays. When you are a part of a religious movement, it’s usually mandatory. In my adulthood, I would spend most of my holidays alone, trying to jump on someone else plans and pray that I would find someone just as uncomfortable as myself and a bond will form. 

I recall a year where I found myself at a stranger home and we played adult drinking games. I then party hopped to a casual associate’s party where I was bitten on my hip by a drunk overly zealous guy. That was my new years highlight until now. I entered 2017, more comfortable in my skin and reassured. I am ready…bring it on!

I was invited by a close friend of almost ten years to ring in the new years with her and circle of friends. We spent the night drinking, dancing and just having a great time. There were times when I was closed to being a mess, but I knew I was in good hands. I knew if anything goes down, I wouldn’t be left on the sidewalk dry heaving. Those are the types of people you want to surround yourself with at all times. People who even though, you might become a hot mess…you know they will pick you back up and help you dust yourself off. It doesn’t matter if you’ve known them 10 years or just a few months. Every one should have at least 1 or 2 of those people in your corner. I’m entering the new year grateful and fortunate to have 2 such people. By God’s grace.

That is happiness, that is success. To the beginning on a new year, I say surround yourself with people who support you, most importantly…surround yourself with people you support.

Leave a Reply

